Inspired by Cornelia Parker – Magna Carta (An Embroidery)

Today I have been inspired by Cornelia Parker – Magna Carta (An Embroidery).

In preparing samples and ideas for our final session in the Prosiect Cwilt Atgofion I came across this video of the making of her wonderful piece to commemorate the Magna Carta’s 800th anniversary this year.   I have been hearing radio interviews with the artist and other contributors all week and was intrigued by the prospect.  When this video was serendipitously shared on a Facebook group I belong to I was delighted to actually see the work in progress.

Cornelia’s work is on display in the British Library.

We wanted to include this newspaper article from 2010 into the quilt somehow, it documents the Prince of Wales’ visit to the Woollen Museum to announce his patronage of the Campaign for Wool, it was an important memory for some of the participants.  The article has been transferred to fabric and stitched over.

Working on the quilt project has reminded me how much I love to stitch and that even an imprecise stitcher like me can enjoy the process and it’s results.


Posted

in

,

by

Comments

One response to “Inspired by Cornelia Parker – Magna Carta (An Embroidery)”

  1. September 2018 & May 2015 – Nia Lewis Textile Design Avatar

    […] about this project before, you can see what I thought at the time in my previous posts about the inspiration, completion and exhibition of the […]

Leave a comment